Contact Us

 

Supper In A Pear Tree

Unit 131 Battersea Business Centre 

99 - 101 Lavender Hill 

LONDON, SW11 5QL 

 

07811205666

 

supperinapeartree@hotmail.co.uk

In Partnership with the London Fine Art Studios

Write ups and Reviews

Vogue

September 29, 2017

Vogue mentions us again!  

"Wedding season fast approaches us yet again and that means hen-dos plaguing your calendar for the foreseeable future. Destination hen-dos every second weekend just aren't feasible. Vogue has pulled together some fresh ideas for hen-dos that won't have such a drain on you and your bank account. Whether you choose a boozy private dinner at Kitty Fisher's or a life drawing class (because what's a hen-do without a naked man?) Vogue's options cover every base..."

 "You are guaranteed a hot hunk to sketch and a delicious dinner to follow"

  

Little Miss Notting Hill.

December 16, 2016

Lovely review from blogger- Little Miss Notting Hill

"Now, I’m no artist (although some of the girls had surprising hidden talents!) but there was certainly something incredibly relaxing to zone out and draw, focusing on nothing but the blank paper in front of you and the small piece of charcoal in your hand.  The model stands in the centre of the class ready for you to paint her with your charcoals at all angles and all the while one half of the hosts of the supper club – artist and teacher Charlotte Partridge –  expertly dishes out her life drawing tips drawn from her experience learning at art schools in Florence, London and the USA."

The Telegraph

February 10, 2015

We get listed as one of Britain’s best and weirdest Supper Clubs!

 

Happens once a month in Battersea's Lavender Hill Studios. Starts with a conventional glass of wine and then a rather less conventional interlude in which participants sketch a nude model. Followed by a three-course supper (eg oysters, pork belly, chocolate trufffles) cooked by professional chef Annabel Partridge, whose sister Charlotte runs the art session.

VOGUE

March 12, 2014

We’re featured in VOGUE’s April issue.  VOGUE goes out.

Supper in a Pear Tree is recommended as a “Fashionable Feast”

We’ll take it :)  

Time Out

February 25, 2014

Time Out recommends us!

 

"Food thats pretty as a picture served in an atmospheric art school.  Run by the Partridge sisters (hence the name, although Alan got there first with the Pear Tree pun), this Battersea pop-up takes place in the welcomingly lived-in surroundings of the Lavender HIll Studios, a private art school specialising in traditional drawing, painting and sculpture.  Here you'll get a lesson in life drawing ahead of a refined candelit three-course supper among the easels and oil paints.  Works of art on the plate from chef Annabel, an ex-sous chef at Petersham Nurserues in Richmond, have previously included the likes of ricotta, agretti and chilli brushetta followed by lamb tagine wuth couscous almonds and pomegrante."

Wilderness Festival

June 03, 2014

Supper in a Pear Tree will be popping up this August at Wilderness Festival in there Cookery School.  

We’re very honoured to be sandwiched between amazing chef’s such as Angela Hartnett, Simon Rogan, Moro, Salt Yard and Russel Norman.  It will be our biggest Supper in a Pear Tree yet with 30 people coming for lunch and the class.  We’re excited!  It will be running on the 8th of August 1-3pm (Lunch in a Pear Tree!)

Time Out

November 12, 2013

“Eating out in London these days isn’t just about putting food into your face.  Dining ventures in this city include a group of mad mother-shukers who combine shell fish with thumb-wrestling.  There are food manglers who stuff insects in dim sum.  There’s even a pop up restaurant / life-drawing class.  At which I would not advise asking the waitress for a nice pear”

 

COUNTRY & TOWN HOUSE

December 10, 2012

We get mentioned as a suggestion as a New Year Resolutions

 

"Whether it’s going to your first festival or taking that holiday of a lifetime, make 2013 a year of doing rather than saying. 

20. Express Your Inner Artist

Learn a new skill. In the rustic surroundings of the Lavender Hill Studios, artist Charlotte Partridge will dish out life drawing tips, while chef, Annabel, will reward your efforts with a fabulous three course supper."

Marie Claire

December 15, 2011

After a rave review on Twitter by the blogger and food critic James Ramsden, Marie Claire got in touch and popped us in their January issue. YAY!

 

“WE LOVE.... An arty meal. Artist Charlotte Partridge and her sister Annabel, a chef at Michelin- starred Petersham Nurseries in Surrey have combined their talents in a life drawing supper club.”

 

WEDDING Magazine

March 15, 2013

Wedding Magazine Feature us in they’re May Issue

"Hen- Spiration

Hen style: The arty type

Forget butlers-in-the-buff, try a pop-up art class where you and your friends will enjoy a tasteful drawing lesson around the subject of a nude male model. Discuss your artistic talents over a sumptuous three-course dinner served around a long table.  The classes are run by two sisters - one an artist, the other a sous chef and they promise high class entertainment in the famous Lavender Hill Studios, London."

The Nudge

October 31, 2012

Write up in The Nudge. An online undercover guide to the best of London

 

"Supper in a Pear Tree

(Pop Up Restaurants - November 2012)

Life drawing classes are just one of those things that many need a few added incentives to head along to… Incentives like, say, wine. And a three-course dinner cooked by a resident Petersham Nurseries chef. And young people running it (just to make it, you know, less weird). It happens on the first Thursday of every month, but as it’s popular November’s already sold out… however there’s still space for December. 

Nakedness and food: the perfect combination, right?! "

Breast Endeavours??

November 16, 2012

Write up on Trivial Pursuits. By Edward Lines

 

"It’s not everyday you have your girlfriend’s permission to stare at another girl’s boobs, and it wasn’t even my birthday. But that, happily for me, was the whole point of the life drawing part* of a new entrepreneurial venture from sisters, Charlotte and Annabel Partridge. Supper in a Pear Tree, to adopt a sporting cliché, is a game of two halves; a life drawing session first and a two course sit down dinner second. And at £30 and BYOB, a game of excellent value too.

*other than drawing the rest of her, obviously.

It’s a fairly alternative night from the beginning. You arrive at the metal gates of the Battersea Business Centre just off Lavender Hill, tap in a code and head inside a dimly lit compound. You make your way up a set of fire escape stairs to the first floor of the ominously titled Unit 101. And there is definitely something a bit Nineteen Eighty-Four up to this point. You enter a brightly lit corridor, knock on a wooden door and when it opens, you expect to see your worst nightmare – Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney with metal chains in latex bondage gear, pointing towards a cold set of railings with police handcuffs, saying, “This will be our little secret, Ed”. But you are, in fact, welcomed into a warm room by Annabel in chef whites, who puts a glass of wine in your one hand, and Charlotte, who places a stick of charcoal in the other and shows you to an easel. Phew.

And then, breasts! Without warning, my eyes find themselves looking beyond the circle of easels to a platform where our subject for the evening is stood. Lovely breasts; nurturing, maternal and real, glowing in the presence of the overhead lamp.

Shit. With a troubled expression, I glance over at L.  I remember the Commandment: Thou shalt not look at any other boobies other than thy girlfriend’s.

Am I allowed to look? I mean, am I supposed to draw the boobs?

Well, L has brought us here, so surely it’s okay, and she’s already drawing for crying out loud.

A booming voice from the heavens said: “Be brave, young Edward, thou shalt draw the boobies.”

“Ok. Thanks, God. And the fanny?”

“Hmm. Yes, and the fanny. If thou so wishes.”

*****

And, I have to confess; it was all a bit much. I was lost in a wilderness of uncertainty. When the model stepped down from her plinth to bring the first session to a close, I had only managed to draw the overhead lamp.

Fortunately Charlotte, put me, and a lot of others, out of our misery and gathered us round her easel to demonstrate how it should be done.

 

We were instructed to see our nude model as an object – a marble sculpture to be precise. And, just as a sculptor chips away from a large block to create form, so we should apply the same approach when drawing with charcoal.

So, during the next session, I was braver. No longer did I see boobs, nor did I draw the lamp. No. I saw a marble sculpture with light and shade, and I did draw.

 

At the end of the first part of the evening, I looked at my work of art: a rather male looking representation of the model it must be said and I remembered there was a reason I studied the history of art rather than being practically involved with it. I’d even given her a movember for goodness sake. Still, it was a marked improvement on my first effort.

 

I went over to inspect L’s work, ready to provide a helpful critique. ‘Ahem’, I coughed, importantly. But, as a came round the easel, there wasn’t anything to be helpfully critical of; I was greeted with a bloody masterpiece – judge for yourselves.

Thankfully, I didn’t have to chew on my mixture of pride and jealousy for too long as the canapés arrived. And we were onto part two of the evening.

Our class left the easels and headed into an adjacent studio where a long table had been rustically laid with candles in wine bottles amongst nude plaster figures on a stripy red tablecloth.

 

Now, I’m not a foodie, so I’m going to be doing Annabel a disservice here but the cooking was excellent, especially considering her kitchen is somewhere along the outer studio corridors and I’m fairly certain it doesn’t live up to the standards of Petersham Nurseries during her days as Sous Chef there.

Our emulation of the Renaissance masters in our artistic endeavours earlier was echoed in the classic Italian theme of the food. The rich, meaty pasta main could have been right out of a Florentine ‘dis is a my mama’s special recipe’ style restaurant.

For each course Annabel gives you a little story behind them. The best being the tale of the Italian killer bees who sound like Winnie the Pooh’s Room 101, mercilessly attacking those who climb the cliff faces to try to steal their produce. Annabel must have been one of the lucky ones who survived because that honey could be found in our tart that very night, and served up with a complimentary mead (a drink I’d only come across in ancient history and Lord of the Rings). I had seconds.

A great evening in all, and your party bag at the end consists of your drawings, which Mum will love for Christmas.

Supper in a Pear Tree only runs on the first Thursday of each month, so book well in advance. The next evening is on 6th December. To book email supperinapeartree@hotmail.co.uk. Apparently they also do Hen nights with male models. Thou shalt draw the penis, ladies."

The Metropolist

March 26, 2014

"Pop-up restaurant, an art class, two Partridges and a Supper in a Pear Tree.

That is a musical summary of this Battersea pop-up restaurant-cum-art class, which takes place on the first Thursday of every month. The evening, which takes place in Lavender Hill Studios, is run by the Partride sisters; Annabel, an ex-sous chef of Petersham Nurseries, and Charlotte, an artist who runs her own classes.

Supper in a Pear Tree begins at 7pm with a glass of wine and a bit of a natter with the other diners/fellow artists before everyone sits down to commence their drawing session around a nude model. The life drawing session is light-hearted and a great ice breaker.

Post-art class guests are seated for a sumptuous three-course dinner, cooked by Annabel who was trained in a Michelin-starred restaurant. The menu changes each month, but when previous menus have included quality oysters for a starter, an exotic Sri Lankan curry for main and a hearty rhubarb dessert to round off the evening, then you’ll know you’re in for a delicious feast – all served by the nude model, who will be fully clothed by this point to avoid any awkwardness.

Space is limited to 20 people each month and the night costs £40. Money well spent we say."

Food & Drinks Noob Blog Review

July 06, 2015

We hosted the International Cognac Summit Results Dinner: A year ago Annabel travelled to the Cognac region with the International Board of Cognac to pair cognac with food, then this month we hosted the results dinner.  Here’s the write up from the Food & Drink Noob.

 

"Annabel Partridge (former sous chef at Skye Gyngell's Spring at the Somerset House) has come up with some truly inspired seasonal recipes to match cognac at her pop up restaurant "Supper in a Pear Tree" in The Lavender Hill studio in Battersea. Scottish lobster was paired with a Grande Champagne VS cognac (Frapin), the light fruity and mellow sweetness really brought out the freshness of the shellfish. Fillet of beef was matched with a Fine Champagne VSOP (Hine), the mild spiciness and floral aroma worked in harmony with the robust flavour of the beef and the coolness of the horseradish creme fraiche. Chocolate truffles were paired with a Grande Champagne XO cognac (Delamain Vesper), the intense taste profile of the XO is the perfect combination with rich dark chocolate: oily, waxy and bitter with a hint of smoky undertone."

Tuesday, 7 July 2015

 

 

Magnify Magazine

February 09, 2014

Supper In A Pear Tree: Q&A

Annabel Partridge runs the Battersea art and dining experience, Supper in a Pear Tree, with her art teacher sister, Charlotte. Working for Skye Gyngell, former head chef of Michelin-starred restaurant, Petersham Nurseries, Annabel’s creative skills are being put to the test developing new recipes. The busy chef is also training for a London to Bulgaria bike ride, in support of the A21 Campaign, to raise awareness of human trafficking. This week, MAGNIFY caught up with Annabel to ask her about her inspiration behind the supper club and a few of her favourite foods.

All great meals start with great ingredients; what are your favourite culinary foundations at the moment?

Bronzed fennel tops, which I blanche and make into little fried patties to have with a glass of prosecco on a summer evening. I am also mad for summer fruits, berries, peas, broad beans and chard.

One of your dishes, Blood Oranges with Warm Honey and Rosemary, is an interesting combination. Would you describe your cooking style as avant-garde?

Good recipes require the best of what’s in season. A good chef will pair their ingredient with other foods that grow near it in nature. For example, tomatoes, olives, basil and peppery olive oil are all from Tuscany. Together, they are a match made in heaven. You can’t beat nature, so serve what nature is producing at that moment in time.

Everyone’s talking about Supper in a Pear Tree at the moment – you meet in an art school, begin with a life-model art class and conclude with a three course meal. What’s the secret to its success?

It’s an unusual environment. Taking people away from their stressful lives helps them focus on something other than work. I love Virginia Woolf’s motto that ‘one cannot think well, love well [or] sleep well if one has not dined well’. We like to create a beautiful space for our diners to draw, eat and relax whilst surprising them with treats such as chocolate dipped mint leaves and homemade berry vodkas.

Keeping it in the family can be a challenge! What’s it like working with your sister?

She is awesome! There are small challenges which most sisters have, like petty arguments which resolve themselves in seconds, but it’s like working with a best friend. I love to debrief life with her and doing Supper in a Pear Tree means she has to listen to a good seven-hour debrief! We have a lot of fun giggling at people’s drawings and she always knows how to calm me down in the kitchen – she has my back!

You’re obviously very creative and determined. How has your faith influenced Supper in a Pear Tree?

I look to nature for inspiration, which comes from God – He created this amazing planet with incredible produce! Sometimes we have life models pulling out at the last minute so we have to trust God for replacements; I do not want to be stripping off whilst stirring a pot!

Do-Ahead DINNERS

September 30, 2013

Our good friend James Ramsden has just published his first cook book Do- Ahead DINNERS.   Packed with delicious, inspiring recipes and a mention about us!

He’s a foodie inspiration; he’s written about food and cookery for the Guardian, The Times, The FT, Delicious, Sainsbury's Magazine, London Evening Standard and many others, and presents the Lad that Lunches on BBC Radio 1. He also runs the most amazing pop up restaurant called The Secret Larder Lout, which we highly recommend.

Anyway it’s a real honour to have our names in print in his cook book.  So thank you Rambo (James) !    

SUITCASE Magazine

January 09, 2013

The talented and wonderful Musician and Model mentioned us in his interview in SUITCASE magazine.  Us Partridge girls are MASSIVE Roo Panes fans and do our bestest to never miss a gig, his music is beautiful and he’s also a brilliant person. 

 

"For our first exclusive Suitcase Meets feature, we interviewed the lovely Roo Panes, an emerging talent in folk music, who found his stepping stone through Burberry Acoustic, a platform which showcased his dulcet, dusky tones and bittersweet melodies.

 

How did you get into music? 
I had a varied musical background. I started playing trumpet but it turned out I wasn’t particularly good and it’s a pretty loud instrument. The electric guitar was the same, but then I moved onto acoustic and started writing. My granny was a classical pianist so I had that influence there; our family enjoyed jamming and that led to music being part of my lifestyle.

You’ve done videos for Burberry Acoustic- what kind of opportunities has it offered you? 
It was a really important part of my journey. I was kind of stepping into the unknown having just moved to London. I was trying to play as many gigs as possible and Burberry Acoustic was a landmark moment because it helped to give me an audience and get people listening.

How did you get involved with it? 
My sister actually saw it and told me to check it out because  a lot of musicians who I really liked had been featured on it. So I sent Burberry an email with a link to my MySpace music page.

And that led to you being part of the current Burberry campaign with Gabriella Wilde?
Yeah, I was on a DIY tour of England and towards the end of it, Burberry approached me.

How did you feel about becoming the face of Burberry? 
It was a massive shock. I love the brand. I just had to roll with the punches and not think about it. It was so surreal. I just went into it thinking it was a really good project; everyone there was great and it worked out really well.

 

Recommendations in London: 
“Supper In A Pear Tree”, a great evening hosted by some friends of mine in Battersea, art class followed by a 3 course meal- always good."

London Pop-ups

October 27, 2012

London Pop-ups -Detailing all of the pop-up restaurants, pop-up bars, pop-up shops, pop-up galleries, and pop-up gigs in London.

 

London Pop-ups adds us to there list of favourite pop up restaurants.

Christian Today

January 14, 2014

Interview with Annabel for magazine Christian Today

 

"Claire: Have you always been passionate about food and cooking?
Annabel: Yes I think I have always been passionate about food…but not necessarily cooking. As a child my weekends revolved around meal times; after breakfast we would plan and cook lunch then after lunch we would plan and cook supper. However I was always known for not being adventurous and always cooking the same dish; chicken and sweetcorn soup. Luckily for my family becoming a chef means I have moved on so they get a bit more variety!

I think my passion for cooking really started at university when I lived with a bunch of boys who loved fishing and shooting. Each week they would turn up with produce, dump it on the kitchen table and get me to cook it!

Claire: How did you first get into the restaurant business?
Annabel: It is all a bit of a cliché but I 'found myself' on a beach in Australia with a best friend. Having just recommitted my life to God, we spent time praying together and both had the sense that I should work at my favourite restaurant at the time, which was Petersham Nurseries. I thought it would be in the front of house, but Nicole said she felt it would be in the kitchen. I joked with her saying that I couldn't cook, had no training and there was no way they'd give me an opportunity but amazingly doors opened.

Claire: When did you first get to work with Skye Gyngell?
Annabel: Four years ago when I turned up to Petersham Nurseries and she offered me a two-week trial in the kitchen. I had no idea what was going on and was pretty useless. We got given lists to prep in the morning and I remember my list had celeriac on it. Well, I went to the back fridge and got out my phone to Google what a celeriac looked like! On another occasion Skye came up to me and asked what I was doing with the discarded puntarelle leaves (a leaf that you don't eat as it's so bitter) – I was washing them thinking it was rocket!

After the two weeks they didn't offer me a job, which wasn't much of a surprise, but I loved it so much that I asked to work for free and by the end of the month they offered me a job. A year later I was made sous chef and then a couple of months later we got a Michelin star.

 

 

Claire: What has it been like training with a Michelin-starred chef?
Annabel: Skye is brilliant. She is a total genius and the way she relates to produce and food is so inspiring. For her, food is about getting the best of what's in season and putting it on a plate that shows it off in the best possible way. Often the best way to pair food is to have a look at what grows with or near each other in nature. Tomatoes, olives and basil with a peppery olive oil are a match made in heaven and are all from the same area in Tuscany. Nature is always best: when our bodies are run down and we need an extra boost of Vitamin C, oranges and lemons come into season! I definitely agree with Skye that you can't beat nature and therefore should serve what nature is giving at that moment.

Claire: Life behind the scenes in restaurants is often portrayed as cut throat, really tough and, thanks to Gordon Ramsay, full of chefs swearing at their staff! What is it like to be a Christian within that environment?
Annabel: Yes, working in a Michelin-starred restaurant kitchen is VERY stressful. Your brain is working at a thousand miles an hour, mistakes can happen very easily and shouting does happen a lot. However after service the shouting is forgotten about and the team is united, celebrating getting through another stressful day.

When I arrived at Petersham, Skye used to swear a lot, but knowing that I'm a Christian she has stopped and encourages the other chefs to stop too. If she swears by mistake now she always apologises to me after!

It is also brilliant that I can lean on God in many of the stressful moments to bring supernatural peace. On another occasion I spilled a whole pan of boiling water all over my hand. It flared up and started to blister immediately. It was just before service and I was in charge. I grabbed one of the other chefs, who is a Christian, and we went outside to pray for healing. Miraculously the blistering completely went and the pain eased considerably so I was able to go back on the pass for service.

Claire: You also run a pop up restaurant once a month, Supper in a Pear Tree, which combines a drawing class with your artist sister Charlotte with a three-course meal cooked by yourself. How did that idea come about, and what it is it like working with your sister?

Annabel: Two years ago, while lying on a sun bed in Italy, Charlotte and I had the initial idea. We came home, bought a tiny portable oven and mismatched plates from a charity shop. We never thought that two years on it would still be going strong, fully booked and we still use the same tiny oven and crockery!

Working with Charlotte is awesome. It's like working with a best friend. I love to debrief life with her and doing Supper in a Pear Tree means that she has to listen to a good seven-hour debrief! We also have a lot of fun together behind the scenes and she always knows how to calm me down in the kitchen. She is also my biggest fan in terms of my food so really encourages me. 

Claire: Is there anything that you would still love to achieve in your career?
Annabel: I know that there's still lots more for me to achieve, seeing the London restaurant open and being Skye's sous chef there will be a challenge – but an exciting one."

ScissorsPaperSpoon Blog

April 25, 2012

We get Reviewed by Laura Tovell from ScissorsPaperSpoon

 

"I jumped for joy when I first heard about Supper in a Pear Tree, I love drawing (but don’t get to do it enough) and I love eating (far too much) and this brilliant little pop up in Battersea brings the two together in wonderful style. 

It’s run by the lovely Partridge sisters: Charlotte does the drawing and Annabel does the cooking and it all takes place in the very cool Lavender Hill Studios in Battersea on the first Thursday of every month.  The evening kicks off with a glass of wine and a drawing session  led by the uber talented Charlotte followed by a really decent three course supper cooked by Annabel, one of Petersham Nurseries resident chefs.   

The candlelit decked table groaned under the weight of plates of home made gnocchi, perfectly dressed salad, a wonderfully light and crisp lemon tart, homemade chocolate ginger truffles and – my favourite – homemade rhubarb and ginger vodka.  I was genuinely sad when the evening came to an end and am already planning my return visit.  Thursday nights just won’t be the same again…"

Please reload